Ten Years

You told me a story
I didn’t listen
I assumed it was boring
Oh I wish I had paid attention.

“When you’re young
You wish upon stars.”
I said okay
And laughed because I didn’t know what he was trying to say
So I just took a nap.

My wish never came true
the past seems so far
And the memories so new.

It’s been a decade
Ten years
And I’m staring at a grave
Eyes full of tears.

I thought back to the story
And all the years I ignored
It filled me with worry
About the things I never heard.
You said when I grow up the things I’d think were scary wouldn’t be anymore
I checked under the bed
And opened a door
He was right
It was all imaginary.

But it’s been ten years
And the closet still roars
And I still have the fears
Of the rumbling door.

It’s been ten years
A whole decade
And I still have fears
I’m still afraid
My wish still hasn’t come true and I don’t know what to do.

Leave a comment