Do You Really Know What You’re Seeing?

When you’re sitting at a park, what do you see? Or in this case, what don’t you see?  

The words are simple, you see your bff Amy txt you a smiley face; a Facebook notification from Fed, and yes even your own face that is of course “selfie ready”. Now does that seem close to correct? If so, you should already know you’re missing out on what matters most because it is in fact all around you -The big blue bright sky filled with white plush clouds; little kids feeding the geese with bread crust, people walking their dogs, your child wanting an underdog but you’re “too busy” with your phone to do so, these are all things that are just begging for some attention! People everyday are losing those moments and it is not just something someone can just fix on their own.                                         To me it is considered heartbreaking and undeniable that it will and and can be hard to stop, like an addict who can’t put down the drugs, we are all addicted. Speaking from an 18 year old girls point of view, there is no point in wasting time looking at a screen all day long when most of the time all it has to offer is bs and garbage.                         I admit giving up my phone has been hard but now as I start to feel more free without it, I feel better about myself – I still like to listen to music when I paint; I like to hang out with friends give them a call, and I love to write on this blog and I’ve been enjoying time without my phone, without my phone I feel like I’m not missing a thing.                     
In the end, my txts have become Amy waving hello; my Facebook notifications have become a tap on the shoulder to join Fred on a walk, my “selfie” has become a mirror to look at myself for a quick minute. Without my phone I see things for what they are not for how they reflect on a screen.

Leave a comment